The National Association of Jewellers (NAJ) has unveiled the shortlist line-up for its annual awards.

The NAJ awards acknowledge and celebrate the exceptional contribution of our members to the jewellery industry.

This year introduces two new awards. New for 2016 is the Workshop Employee of the Year award, which recognises the importance of specialist skills in the jewellery industry and the vital role individual craftsman play, and the Kickstarter of the Year awards, which celebrates the NAJ’s initiative sponsored by IJL.


The final eight categories for this year’s awards with the shortlisted companies are:

Retailer of the Year – 1-5 Shops (sponsored by Treasure House Company)

This award recognises excellent NAJ members running a brick and mortar shop or gallery up to 5 branches.

  • Lila’s
  • Lumbers Ltd
  • Flitwick Jewellers Group
  • Wongs Jewellers
  • E. Clark & Son Ltd
  • Durham Rose

Retailer of the Year – Over 5 branches (sponsored by Hockley Mint)

This award recognises excellent NAJ members running a brick and mortar shop or gallery with more than 5 branches.

  • Mococco
  • Boodles
  • Beaverbrooks
  • Aurum Group
  • F Hinds

E-tailer of the Year (sponsored by Bransom)

This award recognises NAJ Members running an E-commerce or multi-channel business. Companies trading online, by direct mail, home shopping or as a TV channel are eligible to enter this category.

  • Jewelstreet
  • Tresor Paris
  • CooksonGold
  • Gemporia
  • Arabel Lebrusan Limited

Designer of the Year (sponsored by Clogau)

The award recognises a designer who is raising the bar of British design creating interesting on-trend designs.

  • Lucy Quartermaine
  • Imogen Belfield
  • Fei Liu Fine Jewellery
  • Sarah Ho London
  • The Rock Hound
  • Sheila Kerr

Workshop Employee of the Year (sponsored by Maker Mends)

This award recognises a workshop employee, individual craftsman or apprentice who has demonstrated great determination and tenacity alongside exceptional skills.   This award will honour the hidden gems of the industry employed at NAJ member businesses.

  • Lee Rimmer, Wongs Jewellers
  • Carl Goodfellow, Beards
  • John Leckenby, Berry’s Jewellers
  • Bernard Carr, E W ADAMS & SONS
  • Oliver Cooper, Oliver Cooper Designs

Kickstarter of the Year (sponsored by International Jewellery London)

To acknowledge the design talent of the ten designers chosen to be part of the Kickstart initiative as seen at IJL 2016.

  • Sammie Jo Coxon
  • Addalit
  • Emma Calvert
  • Joanna Bury
  • Marina Skia
  • Tiki by Cécile Gilbert
  • Vicky Lew London
  • Lucas Alexander Jewellery by Lucas Mitchell
  • Emily Richardson Jewellery
  • CF Concept by Charlotte Scott Moncrieff

Jewellery & Watch Supplier of the Year (sponsored by the Company of Master Jewellers)

This award recognises the supplier of jewellery ranges and/or watch brands that have given consistent service and added value alongside dynamic new product.

  • Dower & Hall
  • Clogau
  • Amore
  • W.L Great Britain
  • Storm

Service Supplier of the Year (sponsored by Warrior Doors & Shire Leasing)

An award recognises the NAJ member or supplier of services to the NAJ membership who has provided outstanding service during 2016.

  • The Jewellery Display Company
  • Parify
  • Cartercutts
  • Bransom Retail Systems
  • Vipa Designs

NAJ chief executive officer and Professional Jeweller Hot 100 2016 Trailblazer, Michael Rawlinson, comments: “These awards provide the opportunity to shine the spotlight on excellent businesses providing excellent products, services and customer service.  I am sure the voting will be intense, and the results will be close as every nominee is a worthy winner.  I am really looking forward to a night of celebration when we announce the winners in each category.”

The new look trophies have been designed in the Birmingham Jewellery Quarter and will be presented to the winners at the Benevolent Ball, St John’s Hotel, Birmingham, December 1 alongside the industry Benevolent Charity Ball.