CMJ announces first supplier to join board as five new directors are elected


Members of the Company of Master Jewellers (CMJ) have elected Chris Burrow of ATS Bullion Ltd as the first ever supplier to join the group’s board of directors.

This news came alongside the announcement that four new board directors have been voted in from the CMJ’s membership following a number of long-standing directors stepping down at the group’s AGM on August 7.

Burrow has been in the jewellery industry for 44 years and brings a wealth of experience – as a manufacturer at the award-winning business Alfred Terry Ltd and as a Pandora franchisee with stores in five locations across the north of England. Today Burrow owns a consultancy business that mentors people working in the jewellery trade and ATS Bullion Ltd, established in 2002 and run by his son Michael, which buys and sells gold bullion from an office at London’s Savoy Hotel.

Story continues below

Following the AGM, chief executive of the CMJ Willie Hamilton commented: “We have been looking into our commitment of bringing a supplier representative onto the board for a little while now and we believe that Chris – with his wide industry knowledge and extensive experience – has the necessary strong credentials that both members and suppliers will recognise and trust. We look forward to welcoming Chris to his first board meeting to bring a supplier’s unique point of view to Boardroom discussions and a commitment to remove barriers between members and suppliers.”

The AGM also saw the CMJ’s membership vote in four retail members as new board directors. Michael Aldridge of Neil & Barker, John Henn of TA Henn, Helen Molloy of Forum Jewellers and Peter Wong of Wongs Jewellers will all join the CMJ Board with immediate effect.

Colin Harris, Judith Hart and Andrew Pass all retired at the AGM due to the board’s rotation policy. Non-executive director Jit Patel has recently resigned due to his extensive business commitments.

The other retail members who remain in place on the CMJ Board are Stephen Hughes, Andrew Hirshman, Jason Allum, Michele Whittam and Phil Ainsworth.

Tags : CMJCompany of Master JewellersHelen Molloyjewellery buying groupJohn Hennmichael aldridgepeter wongStephen Hugheswillie hamilton

The author Stacey Hailes

Editor, Professional Jeweller

1 Comment

Leave a Response