LONDON, ENGLAND - DECEMBER 26: Shoppers walk outside Debenhams during the annual boxing day sales at Debenhams on December 26, 2014 in London, England. (Photo by Ben A. Pruchnie/Getty Images)

National department store Debenhams has named 22 stores it plans to close as part of a plan by new owners to revive the business.

The retailer says the store closures will start next year and 1,200 staff will be affected by the first phase.

The full list of store closing can be seen below.


In total, the department store is planning to close 50 of its worst-performing stores but has yet to confirm the locations of the remaining shops at risk.

Earlier this month lenders to Debenhams took control in a deal which wiped out the investments of shareholders.

The new owners include Barclays and Bank of Ireland, as well as US investment firms.

Executive chairman of Debenhams, Terry Duddy, remarks: “The issues facing the UK high street are very well known. Debenhams has a clear strategy and a bright future but in order for the business to prosper, we need to restructure the group’s store portfolio and its balance sheet, which are not appropriate for today’s much-changed retail environment.

“Our priority is to save as many stores and as many jobs as we can, while making the business fit for the future.”

The following 22 stores have been confirmed for closure:

  • Altrincham
  • Ashford
  • Birmingham Fort
  • Canterbury
  • Chatham
  • Eastbourne
  • Folkestone
  • Great Yarmouth
  • Guildford
  • Kirkcaldy
  • Orpington
  • Slough
  • Southport
  • Southsea
  • Staines
  • Stockton
  • Walton
  • Wandsworth
  • Welwyn Garden City
  • Wimbledon
  • Witney
  • Wolverhampton