EC One reveals 2014 Unsigned competition finalists


10 designers in the running to win retailer's mentoring program.

London retailer EC One has announced the 10 finalists in its annual new talent competition EC One Unsigned, with the group vying for votes to win a mentoring and brand development program with the store.

The 10 finalists were announced on Friday October 17, with 2013 and 2014 jewellery graduates among the names. The 10 designers will fight for votes and ‘likes’ cast through a blog on the EC One website.

Story continues below

The designers’ fans, friends, family and the wider industry are encouraged to vote for who they would like to see put through to meet a panel of five judges.

Following the formula of the past Unsigned competitions, the three designers with the most votes, plus a ‘Wild Card’ designer chosen by EC One, will be invited to meet the judges who will then choose a winner.

This year’s judges include Professional Jeweller editor Kathryn Bishop, jewellery designer and consultant Kate Baxter, leading designer Tomasz Donocik, EC One co-founder Jos Skeates and 2012 Unsigned winner Katie Jamieson.

A statement from EC One co-founder and goldsmith Jos Skeates said: "We are thrilled with the quality of entrants this year; it’s a real privilege to see what emerging designer-makers are producing. The 10 chosen designers for the vote-off are all very strong so it will be interesting to see who gets through to the final."

Skeates added that selecting the finalists involved "much deliberation". He thanked all of the 2014 entrants, adding: "Without exception we were incredibly impressed with the standard of work submitted this year."

EC One Unsigned 2014 finalists
Claire Hughes
Deborah Murdoch
Flora Bhattachary
Grace Honeybul
Hayley Beckley
Jo Gordon
Joanna Bury
Mei-ling de Buitléar Jewellery
Monique Daniels
Ruth Conway

Tags : ec one unsignedgraduate jewellery competitionjos skeatesunsigned 2014
Staff Writer

The author Staff Writer

Leave a Response