EC One reveals final 10 in Unsigned competition


Finalists for mentoring comp present unusual selection of jewellery.

Independent London retailer EC One has announced the 10 finalists for its 2011 Unsigned competition – hosted to give one emerging designer the chance to be mentored by the company.

The 10 finalists were announced on Wednesday and have been named as Clarice Price Thomas, Jane Gowans, Julie Impens, Katie Woodward, Marian Bradshaw, Pip Jolley, Sylvaine Frouin, Tom Wilson, Victoria Walker and Becky Dockree.

Story continues below

Designs that have made the final include an array of styles and techniques, from a combination of wood and silver in the bangles by Wilson, to pearl and filigree styles by Impens. Jolley has been recognised for her collections which pay homage to the 1940s ethic of Make Do and Mend, while Price Thomas’s collection features pendants with watch cogs and engraving for a nod to times past and antiquities.

From here, the finalists will battle it out to reach the final four, who will be judged for their commerciability, future ideas and business mind by guests judges from the jewellery industry, which this year will include Professional Jeweller‘s editor Rachael Taylor.

The winner of EC One Unsigned will scoop a mentoring program with the retailer, use of its in-house workshop and advice from its goldsmiths, founder Jos Skeates and head goldsmith Jude Huntley. EC One’s co-founder and head buyer Alison Skeates will offer advice on retail and commerciability, and the winner will also receive promotional help from EC One’s PR company, Push PR.

The 10 finalists have been revealed on Facebook, where the total number of ‘likes’ for each designer will win them a place in the final four. Julie Impens returns to the final 10 for a second year, having made the final four in 2010, alongside designer Laura Gravestock, Emily Margaret Hill and overall winner Myia Bonner.

A judging evening and party to announce the winner will take place in November.

Tags : EC OneEC One's unsigned competitionFacebookfinalistsunsigned
Staff Writer

The author Staff Writer

Leave a Response