GCDC 2015 award winners unveiled


Ceremony dubbed #jewelleryoscars at Goldsmiths’ Hall last night.

The winners of the annual Goldsmiths’ Craftsmanship and Design Competition were announced during a packed ceremony at Goldsmiths’ Hall in London last night (Monday March 2), with Professional Jeweller Hot 100 2014 Trendsetter, Ornella Iannuzzi, walking away with the prestigious Goldsmiths’ Company Award.

This event was hosted by Kay Alexander and supported by a number of important trade companies and individuals, sponsors, industry associations and trade press.

Story continues below

A total of 111 winners were honoured in 23 categories with 22 Gold Awards, 36 Silver Awards and 53 Commendations from over 600 entries.

The Lifetime Achievement Award for 2015 was presented to Norman Bassant for his outstanding and distinguished craftsmanship and teaching. He also served on the Goldsmiths’ Craft & Design Council for over 20 years.

The Goldsmiths’ Craftsmanship and Design Competition is designed to reward rewards excellence in technical skills and creative design in precious metals and related materials. The Goldsmiths’ Craft and Design Council, which runs the competition, actively encourages craftsmen and designers in the industry, apprentices and students to enter their work.

This year’s headline sponsors for 2015 included the Goldsmiths’ Company as founding and lead patron and Cartier as principal patron.

International Jewellery London (IJL), Gemmological Association of Great Britain (Gem-A) and The Goldsmiths’ Centre are all special patrons, with HRH Princess Michael of Kent as the Council’s royal patron. New special award patrons joining this year are Vipa Designs Ltd, C. W. Sellors Fine Jewellery, The National Association of Goldsmiths and Theo Fennell.

The competition accommodates all craft and design activities in the profession, including specialist sections such as diamond mounting, setting, silversmithing, chasing, enamelling, 2D design – including CAD, jewellery, smallwork, technology and many more.

Chairman Mark Huggins said: “This competition encourages, promotes and celebrates excellence in technical skill and originality in craftsmanship and design. These elements remain central to the continued success of our industry and I would like to pay tribute to all those who entered and the winners honoured with Awards this year. I am particularly delighted that Normal Bassant received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his outstanding contribution to education and the precious metals industry.’”

An abridged list of winners can be found below…

Lifetime Achievement Award 2015: Norman Bassant

The Goldsmiths’ Company Award: Ornella Iannuzzi for her The Uprising Ring


The College Trophy Award: The Goldsmtihs’ Centre

The Junior Award: James Handyside

The Senior Award: Clive Taylor


The Podolsky Award: James Handyside

The Gemmological Association of Great Britain Award: Gurveen Singh and Joanna Fronczak-Jabbal

The Gild Packard Post-Graduate Bursary Award: Loucinda Nims and Errin Quinn

Theo Fennell Apprentice/Master Award: James Handyside and RH Wilkins

The National Association of Goldsmiths Creative/Distinctive Jewellery Award: Laura Bangert

The Gold and Silver Wyre Drawers Award: Nan Nan Liu, Hazel Thorn and Karen Elizabeth Donovan


Silversmiths Special Award sponsored by Cooksongold: Luke Orford

Smallworkers: Isabella Liu and Phil Barnes

Medals: Zoe Harding

Fashion Jewellery sponsored by QVC: Isabella Liu and Gabriela Kucharska

Jewellery Design sponsored by Marcia Lanyon: Jack Bainbridge and Hang Yeung

Pearl Jewellery sponsored by Raw Pearls: Xing Zhou and Elsa Tierney

Bespoke Jewellery sponsored by Harriet Kelsall bespoke jewellery: Dominique Compton

CAD Presentation: Ben Ryan

Production Jewellery sponsored by Vipa Designs Ltd: Sarah Herriot and Laura Bangert

Fashion Led Conceptual Jewellery: Isabella Liu

Precious Jewellery sponsored by International Jewellery London: Flora Bhattachary

Precious Jewellery IJL Gold Award: Ornella Iannuzzi

Technological Innovation sponsored by The Goldsmtihs’ Company Assay Office London: Clive Taylor


Lapidary and Carving sponsored by CW Sellors: Charlotte De Syllas

Tags : goldsmiths craft and design council awardsGoldsmiths' Hall
Staff Writer

The author Staff Writer

Leave a Response