Annual event cancelled in wake of miner shootings.

Lonmin cancelled its annual Design Innovations Award (DIA) party that was due to take place last night in the wake of the violent struggles that have taken place at its Marikana mine in South Africa. 

There has been no official word from the mining company as to why the decision was taken to cancel the party but industry insiders have suggested that Lonmin did not want to be seen spending money after the workers’ strike at its mine that led to the deaths of 36 miners, two policemen and 78 people were injured. 


The winning designs of this year’s DIA are on display at IJL, which is taking place this week in London, along with previous winning designs that form a retrospective collection to mark the 10th anniversery of the awards. 

The eight winners of the Lonmin Design Innovation Award 2012 were announced in July. 

In the Established Designers category for jewellery designers in the business for more than five years the winners were Leyla Abdollahi, Alexander Davis, Sarah Jordan, Sarah Jordan Ltd and Mandy Morris of Werk@TCJ Designs.

In the Emerging Designers category for jewellery designers with less than five years’ commercial experience the winners were, Natasha Bagnall, Domino, Mark Hampson, Hampson Fine Jewel, Edward Slater, Stephen Webster Ltd and Laura Strand, PureJewels.

To celebrate the competition’s 10th anniversary, a theme titled Red Carpet Glamour was set this year.

Along with the theme , the brief was to create an original platinum jewellery design for the red carpet that channels the glamour of the 1920’s and 30’s into a creation that confidently belongs in the 21st Century.

The judging took place in April and the winning designs, submitted as drawings, are now being produced to be unveiled on the Red Carpet Glamour feature stand at IJL. The pieces will also be worn by models at an awards party to on the first night of IJL.

A marketing and PR campaign is being planned to help promote the designers and their winning designs. They each also win £1,000 awarded by Johnson Matthey.