Webster scoops prize at Spear’s Design awards


Jeweller takes home prize as ‘flawless’ international jewellery brand.

British jewellery designer Stephen Webster has won the Best Contemporary Jeweller award at the first Spear’s Design for Living Awards, held at the Jack Barclay showroom in London’s Berkeley Square.

The awards brought together the most influential figures, iconic brands, and arbiters of style in a celebration of innovative pedigree and modern lifestyles.

Story continues below

Nominated with a host of other luxury brands, Webster took home the prize for contemporary jeweller, beating off competition which included fine jeweller Ben Day, up-and-coming designer Hannah Livingston, Milena Kovanovic and Theo Fennell.

Webster has seen his presence internationally go from strength to strength in recent years, with a key market base in Russia and the U.S., where he is famed as jewellery designer to the stars, most notably Christina Aguilera, Jennifer Lopez and Ozzy and Sharon Osbourne. The brand was also nominated as the second favourite jewellery designer in the U.S. last week, in a poll released by United Brands.

"The USA is still our strongest single market. We are aware, as much as everyone, how difficult it can be to build a business as a small European brand – history says that you are more likely to fail than succeed. Therefore, we are delighted that after 12 years since we first showed in th U.S. that we have achieved the number two position in the Top 10 Jewellery Designers in the USA,” Webster said. 

A second jewellery category was awarded at the Spears’ Design for Living Awards, for international design from the UK. Nominees included Asprey, Bulgari, Cartier, Harry Winston and Van Cleef & Arpels, with the prize awarded to quirky jewellery designer Solange Azagury-Partridge.

The Design for Living Award’s are said to identify the very best individuals in their field. The winner’s were selected by a distinguished panel of leading designers, industry insiders and authoritative style writers, including Nick Foulkes, Nick Candy and William Sitwell amongst others.



Tags : awardawardssolange azagury partridgespears design for living awardsStephen Webster
Staff Writer

The author Staff Writer

Leave a Response